Skip to Content







         Historically, the earliest dynasty which established its sway over this district is that of the Gangas. In about the fourth century A.D., the Gangas established themselves at Kolar and the territory comprised in Bangalore Rural district formed part of Gangavadi 96,000 and Honganur of  Channapatna Taluk was the  chief town of  a  sub-division, called Chikka Gangavadi, which occupied the  Shimsha valley. During the Seventh century, Mankund was a place of great  importance and was the second royal residence of  Ganga  Bhuvikrama(654-79) and also of Shivamara(679-726). In the eight century Shri Purusha made Manyapura ( Manne of Nelamangala Taluk) his royal residence and  later it was a major center under the  Rashtrakutas.  Manne or Mannekadakam of  Tamil records had been the headquarters of Rashtrakutas Governor Kambarasa.  Certain parts of the  district, especially in the East, were held by the Nolamb Pallavas.




          The major portion of Bangalore rural district lies in the Arkavati valley. The Arkavati, the Kanva and the Dakshina pinakini (southern Pennar) are the rivers which flow through the district in the general direction from north to south.

 The mean sea level of the district is at a difference of height between 629 to 950 mtr. Bangalore Rural District consists of 4 taluks namely:


  • Devanahalli

  • Doddaballapura

  • Hosakote

  • Nelamangala


No. of Visitors : 404
Last Updated on : 16/03/13